The history of McLean House dates back to 1928 when James Stanley McLean, President and founder of Canada Packers, commissioned architects George Moorhouse and King Associates to design a unique home for his family on 50 acres of rolling land that he had purchased for $92,000.
The result was Bay View, now known as McLean House, one of Ontario's most splendid Georgian-style mansions. The fieldstone manor house was embellished with Palladian windows, classic moldings, a grand staircase, high ceilings, and spacious rooms. The acres of gardens were spectacularly landscaped by Gordon Culham, a landscape architect who worked in the grand English country house tradition.
McLean House remained the home of the McLean family until 1966, when the widow of J.S. McLean moved to a smaller home. The University of Toronto took over the property, and it was converted by Sunnybrook Hospital into a clinical facility.
In 1982 McLean House was renovated and revitalized by the Junior League of Toronto and the Interior Designers of Ontario, who opened it to the public as a Designers’ Showcase home. Following this revitalization, McLean House was opened by Sunnybrook as a venue for social and corporate events, with proceeds going to fund medical research at the hospital.